Schubert And Vienna – Afternoon Coffee Concert

Date: Sunday 24th October 2010 15:00

Venue: RNCM Concert Hall, Manchester


  • Schwertsik Wake Op.70
  • Schubert Quintet in C Major

Performed By

  • Miklós Perényi Cello
  • Manchester Camerata Ensemble

“[Perényi is] a figure of true artistic stature … [of] innate intelligence, skill and insight” -The Strad

“[Perényi] inhabits the music at a profound level and is surely one of the masters of structure in the core repertoire” – BBC Music Magazine

From 2.15pm Hot drinks and scones with jam and cream served in the RNCM café

3pm – 4pm


Outstanding cellist Miklós Perényi collaborates with Camerata’s string principals in a performance of Schubert’s extraordinary String Quintet in C major, written just two months before the composer’s tragically early death at the age of 31. The colourful and lyrical Wake for string quartet by Kurt Schwertsik, one of Vienna’s most revered living composers, opens the programme.

Ticket prices£10.00 (concert ticket including hot drinks and a scone)

Booking information

Booking available from the RNCM box office direct from 1st September.

Telephone the box office on 0161 907 9000

In person, go to The Bridgewater Hall Box Office, Lower Mosley Street, Manchester, M2 3WS

This concert is suitable for familes with children aged 7+ years