American Sounds

Date: Saturday 30th April 2011 19:30

Venue: RNCM Concert Hall, Manchester

“I’m thrilled to be making my debut with Manchester Camerata and this wonderful, eclectic programme of music from America. The sweep of Copland’s landscapes, the pulsing vibrancy of John Adams, and the rhythmic vitality of ‘Dumbarton Oaks’ make for a challenging but exciting platform upon which to explore the sound-world of a top-class chamber orchestra. It’s also a particular pleasure to revisit a piece I commissioned in 2008 from the hugely talented American composer Nico Muhly; his concerto for electric violin explores the ravishing sonorities of this rarely used instrument, and I’m delighted to be joined again by Thomas Gould, for whom the work was written.”Nicholas Collon

Pre-concert Performance: Urban Symphony, 4th movement, 6.30pm Contemporary Mancunian architecture and minimalism combine to create this section of our journey through the city.

Post-concert: ENCORE, 9.30pm

Nicholas Collon conductorTom Gould violinNew York based composer Nico Muhly is as likely to be seen collaborating with the likes of Bjork, Grizzly Bear, Antony and the Johnsons and Sigur Ros as he is with the New York Philharmonic and the Chicago Symphony. Written especially for violinist Tom Gould, his Concerto for 6-string Electric Violin, in his own words, ‘references the exciting and superstitious practice of observing and mapping the sky&. This dynamic programme is completed by Stravinsky&s tongue-in-cheek chamber concerto Dumbarton Oaks, and music by two thoroughly American voices, John Adams and Aaron Copland.Ticket prices£22, £19.50, £16.50, £9.50

Booking informationBooking now available from the RNCM box office.

Telephone the box office on 0161 907 5555In person, go to the RNCM Box Office, 124 Oxford Road Manchester M13 9RDClick here to book online

Supported by


Check out Nicholas Collon’s website.

While you’re at it, have a look at Thomas Gould’s.