Haçienda Classical Album Set To Be Released October 2016

Posted on September 8, 2016

Hacienda Classical Press Release

The team behind legendary Manchester club FAC 51 The Haçienda is set to release a full ‘Haçienda Classiçal’ album on 21st October 2016, following the unprecedented success of a series of national events during the year.

Haçienda Classiçal has seen DJs Graeme Park and Mike Pickering, the original DJs behind the unique Haçienda sound, spin club classics in full harmony with a live orchestra, Manchester Camerata, alongside vocals from the AMC Choir and special guests.

The resulting collision of seminal dance music and orchestral instrumentation has breathed new life into club anthems such as ‘Blue Monday’, ‘Voodoo Ray’, ‘Good Life’ and ‘Ride On Time’. Other tracks featured in the live set and on the album include ‘Strings of Life’, ‘Move Your Body’ and Rowetta’s stunning new take on ‘You Got The Love’.

The classical-meets-club concept was an instant success as many thousands immediately snapped up tickets to shows at London’s Royal Albert Hall and Manchester’s Bridgewater Hall, all selling out in minutes.

With many requests for a recorded version of the concert, this studio album has been executive produced by The Haçienda, Joy Division and New Order co-founder Peter Hook, together with producer Phil Murphy. The release of this innovative and eagerly anticipated album will allow fans to enjoy the Haçienda Classiçal experience as a recording for the very first time.

Peter Hook, Executive Producer, said:

“This is one of the most challenging journeys I’ve ever undertaken in my musical career, both the live shows and putting the album together. But now looking back and listening to the recording, all the hard work has paid off.”

Tim Crooks, Musical Director, commented;

“Manchester has amazing musicians, DJs, producers and orchestras but they rarely collaborate. It’s rare that you get to do a project that celebrates this diversity.”

 Bob Riley, CEO, Manchester Camerata, added:

‘It doesn’t get more Manchester than this. An epic project with visionary artists.’

Haçienda Classiçal’ will be released on 21st October 2016 on Sony Classical.

Track listing:

  1. Carino
  2. Someday
  3. I’ll Be Your Friend
  4. Voodoo Ray
  5. Pacific State
  6. Can U Dance
  7. Rich In Paradise
  8. Promised Land
  9. Blue Monday
  10. Strings Of Life
  11. What U Need
  12. House In Eb Minor (I Can’t Turn Around)
  13. Back To Love
  14. Move Your Body
  15. Good Life
  16. U Don’t Know Me
  17. Move Your Body
  18. 2 Hype
  19. Ride On Time
  20. You Got The Love