2009 British Composer Awards announced

Posted on December 15, 2009

Sir John Tavener, John Adams, Graham Fitkin and Gabriel Jackson were among the winners of this year’s British Composer Awards, announced yesterday.

The Awards are presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) and sponsored by PRS for Music, the copyright organisation. Now in their seventh year, this was the first time a prize for Contemporary Jazz was included, which was won by composer and saxophonist Jason Yarde for his BBC Prom commission, Rhythm and Other Fascinations, about which the judges said “we were immediately gripped by its gravitas and beautiful harmonic language – a powerful and emotional piece”.

More than 300 submitted works, which had to have been premiered in the year from April 1, 2008, were considered. The ceremony will be broadcast tomorrow evening (Wednesday December 2) on BBC Radio 3 at 7pm.

The full list of winners:

Vocal John Casken The Dream of the Rood
Instrumental Solo or Duo Thomas Simaku Soliloquy V, Flauto Acerbo
Liturgical John Tavener Ex Maria Virgine
Community or Educational Project Mira Calix My Secret Heart
Chamber Alexander Goehr Since Brass, Nor Stone
Sonic Art Mark Peter Wright A Quiet Reverie
International John Adams Doctor Atomic
Orchestral Simon Holt a table of noises
Stage Works Graham Fitkin Reel
Making Music Elizabeth Winters The Serious Side of Madness
Wind Band or Brass Band Adam Gorb Farewell
Choral Gabriel Jackson The Spacious Firmament
Contemporary Jazz Composition Jason Yarde Rhythm and Other Fascinations

For more about the Awards and the winning entries, visit the website of BASCA.

Article published on 2 December 2010 at www.gramophone.co.uk/classical-music-news/2009-british-composer-awards-announced